top of page

Is failing to insert a comma before 'and' the most common mistake made by journalists?

When you are writing a sentence, or paragraph, you should always use a comma when you intend to separate certain fraises, for example, I like onions, cheese, and watermelon, as well as most fruits.

However, a fault you will often find when looking through an article, website, and even mainstream news is failing to insert a comma before: and, &, or.


Improper use of commas is a common fault in newspapers, articles, and websites.


Dwayne Hards has said: "A common fault I often find when reading an article is publishers failing to insert a comma before and, or, and if, and many other words, however, and, and or is the most common. I personally feel that journalists believe that a comma is not needed before and, and or because they believe that and/or indicates the changing of a fraise. You are still supposed to insert a comma, however, I understand that grammar, and English can be quite tricky to learn. Everyone makes mistakes."


Here are some examples when you should use a comma:

  • I like food, drink, and art.

  • I can either eat some crisps, or drink some water, which do you believe would be a healthier option?

  • I can write essays, but I will find them incredibly stressful.

  • I eat lettuce, however, I eat many other foods as well as lettuce.

  • I can eat, sleep, and breathe, as well as climb trees.

Here is one example when you should not use a #comma:

  • I would go for a walk in the forest tonight.

You should only use a comma when separating a verb, for example, I like food, and drinks. Not when using the same verb/phrase.

Comments


bottom of page